Wanderlusting

It all started on a warm summer afternoon during my on the job training in a company somewhere in ortigas. I have nothing to do during that time, so what I did was browsed the internet, searched for places around the Philippines. Until I discovered the blogs of Jerik De GuzmanChyng Reyes, and Grandeur Traveler, everything was changed. I started to wander.

For weeks, my mind was unstoppable. I keep on reading travel stories, most of my free time during my OJT were spent on non stop interest of browsing through different travel blogs. I wanted to do the same. I was so into it that during classtime, I keep on sharing to my blockmates their stories, the places these bloggers visited. I wanted to do the same, I will travel too.

Come april 2012, days after I graduated from college. I already had a job waiting for me. I was thinking, this is it. Real thing, no turning back. Weeks before I finally enter the corporate world, there I am, sitting infront of my laptop, searching for possible places to do my first ever solo backpacking trip. Weeks have passed, I thought it will all be just a plan and will never have the chance to do it. Until one afternoon, 2 days before my initial plan of departure to sagada, my mom gave me the money. And then after exactly 2 days, I found myself, sitting on a bus bound for banaue, all alone, excited and nervous. After that trip, I felt the fulfillment of successfully traveling solo on an unfamiliar place, everything was worth the risk. I felt the hunger, I wanted to be on the road, I wanted to travel more.

Kudos to my wandering mind, my inner nomadic soul is now unstoppable. Few months had passed and I found myself, on a habal habal ride on a rocky trail, on a Bangka dancing with the raging waves of the pacific, on top of a jeepney traveling on the highest highway in the country, eating unlimited oyster with fellow backpackers, exchanging travel stories on a hostel’s common area, etc.

Yes that’s it. To summarize, here are the reasons why I always felt the hunger to travel more.

  1. Experience
  2. People
  3. Destination

Go. Explore. Experience the world out there.

-Simon

7 thoughts on “Wanderlusting

      1. A month ago, i wanted to close my blog for good. One experienced changed my decision, and reading your first post again made me look back to how i started traveling and why i started blogging. I am back and hope you continue writing. Salamat brad! You owe me Masbate!

Hear Hear!

